Rupee symbol ( ₹ ) or INR sign also known as Indian Rupee official symbol, is the denoting symbol which represent the Indian currency and it was designed by D. Udaya Kumar.

It is a combination of the Devanagari letter “र” (“ra”) and the Latin capital letter “R” without its vertical bar (“Ꝛ”).

Click on the button to copy the symbol ₹ from the text field and paste this symbol (e.g. CTRL+V) afterwards in your documents.

The dual horizontal parallel lines at the top of symbol (with white space between them) are designed to make an allusion to the tricolor Indian flag.

rupees symbol tricolor
Rupees Symbol as Tricolor

Before adopting ₹ as rupees symbol the abbreviation INR, RS and Re were commonly used for denoting Indian currency.

Other Asian countries circulating rupee currencies are still using the abbreviation Rs for their currency as Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan including all the countries over the Asia.

For Indians it was the great day, when it was announced that the rupee symbol will be adopted and followed by the all countries since 15 July 2010.

rupee symbol
Rupee Symbol

History & Adoption of Rupee Symbol

No one was aware about this fancy rupee symbol before the announcement made by the Indian government on 15 July 2010.

The Indian government made an announcement to create a sign for the Indian rupee on 5 March 2009 through a campaign that any Indian can design and propose the symbol depending on individuals creativity.

Rupee Symbol Unicode Character

Since 15 July 2020, the Unicode character U+20B9 ₹ (HTML ₹) has been started to use as Unicode character for the Indian rupee sign.

Who designed Rupees Symbol

D. Udaya Kumar is the person behind the design of rupees symbol, He is an Associate professor and Head of Department of Design, IIT Guwahati.

The designer of Indian rupee symbol was born in 1978 in Kallakurichi, Tamil Nadu, India. His Father namely N. Dharmalingam is a politician and former MLA of the DMK party of the state of Tamil Nadu.

Scroll to Top